2020ok  Directory of FREE Online Books and FREE eBooks

Free eBooks > Literature & Fiction > World Literature > United States > Classics > General > The Acorn Stories

The Acorn Stories

by Duane Simolke

Download Book
(Respecting the intellectual property of others is utmost important to us, we make every effort to make sure we only link to legitimate sites, such as those sites owned by authors and publishers. If you have any questions about these links, please contact us.)

link 1

About Book

L. L. Lee, author of Taxing Tallula
A well-crafted collection of short stories.

Mark Kendrick, author of Desert Sons
It was a real pleasure to read about the fictional town of Acorn, Texas.

Book Description
Visit the West Texas town of Acorn! Enjoy the German festival, a high school football game, homemade apple pie from the Turner Street Café, and the cool shade of a hundred-year-old oak tree. Meet dedicated teachers, unusual artists, shrewd business owners, closeted gays, and concerned neighbors. See how lives become intertwined in moments of humor or tragedy. Just be careful, because in Acorn, the sky is always falling!

From romantic comedy to razor-sharp satire to moments of quiet reflection, Duane SimolkeÂ’s award-winning tales transform a fictional West Texas town into a tapestry of human experiences.

“A well-crafted collection of short stories.”
—L. L. Lee, author of Taxing Tallula

“It was a real pleasure to read about the fictional town of Acorn, Texas, and get to meet all the different and varied people that Mr. Simolke so eloquently fleshed out.”
—Mark Kendrick, author of Desert Sons

From the Publisher
Welcome to Acorn, population 21,001, the Texas town with a little name and a big heart.

From the Author
I started writing this collection in 1988, though I wouldn’t decide on a West Texas setting until moving here. White Knight Publishing released The Acorn Stories as an electronically published book (e-book) in 1998. An early imprint of iUniverse brought it into paperback in 1999. This newly revised edition, also published by iUniverse, is available internationally in paperback or hardcover.

About the Author
Majoring in English, Simolke received degrees from Belmont University (B.A., 1989), Hardin-Simmons University (M.A., 1991), and Texas Tech University (Ph.D., 1996). Stein, Gender, Isolation, and Industrialism: New Readings of Winesburg, Ohio was his doctoral dissertation at Texas Tech.

StoneWall Society gave him Pride in the Arts literary awards for his books The Acorn Stories, Degranon, and Holding Me Together. His writing has appeared in dozens of publications, including The International Journal On World Peace, nightFire, Midwest Poetry Review, Perception, Caprock Sun, and The New Voice of Nebraska, as well as on websites such as This Week in Texas.

Simolke edited and co-wrote the spin-off The Acorn Gathering: Writers Uniting Against Cancer, donating the royalties to the American Cancer Society. He also wrote the foreword to Ronald L. Donaghe’s gay novel Lance: The Continuing Journals of Will Barnett.



PLEASE READ: All comments must be approved before appearing in the thread; time and space constraints prevent all comments from appearing. We will only approve comments that are directly related to the article, use appropriate language and are not attacking the comments of others.

Message (please, no HTML tags. Web addresses will be hyperlinked):

Related Free eBooks

Related Tags

DIGG This story   Save To Google   Save To Windows Live   Save To Del.icio.us   diigo it   Save To blinklist
Save To Furl   Save To Yahoo! My Web 2.0   Save To Blogmarks   Save To Shadows   Save To stumbleupon   Save To Reddit